Somalia: Media Association of Puntland elects new leadership

By Staff reporter , Garowe Online

GAROWE, Puntland - The Media Association of Puntland [MAP] has elected a new leadership following a general election held in Garowe city on 30th December 2017, Garowe Online reports.

Ninety-four journalists from the various regions of Puntland cast their votes among 3 male candidates - Mohamed Dahir Aynsane, Mohamed Mohamud (Well Hajji) and Abaadir Abdulkadir Elmi vying for the top leadership, the chairman during the ballot.

Aynsane scored 41 votes, while Elmi got 30. This result meant that the third other candidate had to drop off as election laws require only the top two contenders to go into the second round if no one gets the requisite two-thirds majority.

Mohamed Dahir Aynsane was declared the winner after beating rival candidate Abaadir Abdulkadir Elmi in the second round of vote. Aysane got 51 votes against Elmi’s 42, according to the poll's results announced by a five-member electoral commission.

Elmi conceded defeat and congratulated Aynsane on his free and fair election.

In his keynote speech, the new MAP chairman has thanked the journalists for voting him to lead the Union for the next three years and asked them to collaborate with him towards an effective change.

Aynsane will succeed Faisal Khalif Barre who has been in office since August 2014. 

Meanwhile, Nasra Abdirisack was picked as the new Secretary-General of MAP during the voting.

This is the third election to be held since the establishment of the Media Association of Puntland (MAP) in February 2008, to promote press freedom and defend the rights of journalists working in Puntland.