Coronavirus live updates: What you need to know

View More

Somalia: Puntland's new 66-seat parliament sworn in

By Staff reporter , Garowe Online
The new MPs of Puntland swear-in Tuesday in Garowe Photo: GO]

GAROWE, Puntland - The new 66-member parliament of Somalia's northeastern Puntland was sworn in on Tuesday and officially took the oath of office, Garowe Online reports.

The swearing-in event took place at the Headquarters of Puntland's House of Representatives in Garowe city early in the morning hours after the dispute resolution and approval committee announced the list of the Parliamentarians.

Naima Abdi Aarshe is the only female member elected to the 5th parliament.

The MPs who represent each sub-clans in Puntland picked the eldest member, Hussein Yasin as the interim speaker of the House until the lawmakers meet again this week to elect a permanent speaker and his deputy for the next 5 years.

The new parliament will appoint an Electoral Committee in the coming days that will preside over the upcoming presidential election which is scheduled for the 8th January.

More than 20 candidates, including the incumbent president, Abdiweli Mohamed Ali Gaas who is seeking a second term in office have announced their candidacy for president.

The overall Security has been beefed up across Puntland, mainly the capital city ahead of a key presidential election, and the government has banned Somali Federal Government officials in Mogadishu from visiting Garowe.