Somalia: HirShabelle President names new cabinet

By Staff Reporter , GAROWE ONLINE
Mohamed Abdi Waare, the President of HirShabelle state unveils 20-member cabinet [File Photo]

JOWHAR, Somalia - HirShabelle State President Mohamed Abdi Waare has on Wednesday unveiled a 20-member cabinet with a similar number of deputies, Garowe Online reports.

The new cabinet which has to be approved by the state assembly becomes the first by President Waare who was elected in September following the sacking of former president Ali Abdullahi Osoble in August.

The line-up comprising of 57 members include 17 state ministers and ministers who served in the Osoble's administration, according to a statement released by state Presidency and obtained by GO.

Meanwhile, Ismail Mohamed Ulosow who was appointed as the State Minister for Posts and Telecommunications has immediately resigned from the post, saying he was not consulted on the appointment.

The announcement of the new cabinet comes after weeks of a squabble between the regional state leader and the MPs over the selection process of the ministers, a deadlock that delayed the deadline.

Waare was elected President on 16 September after his predecessor, Ali Abdullahi Osoble, was impeached by the state’s regional assembly and kicked him out of office in a no-confidence motion.


Related articles

Latest headlines