Somalia: Outgoing Sports Minister elected lawmaker despite ban


JOWHAR, Somalia- The outgoing Somali Sports and Youth Minister, Mohamed Aduallah Hassan Nuh, was elected as MP in the ongoing Lower House elections in Jowhar town, despite recent ban from the Federal electoral body, Garowe Online reports.

Federal Indirect Electoral Implementation team (FIEIT) released a statement last week, calling Hirshabelle President and state-level electoral commission to disqualify two candidates who are outgoing Minister Nuh and Ahmed Cirro following disruption and fighting at the voting venue in Jowhar town that resulted in the injury of several delegates last month.

Outgoing Minister Nuh who has the support of Hirshabelle President and caretaker Somali President has won the ballot after defeating his opponent Hindiya Abdulahi Omar in majority 45 votes, according to the poll results.

Sources tell GO that state-level electoral commission and Hirshabelle President have dismissed the directive of FIEIT to disqualify the candidates and allowed Nuh to participate in the ongoing elections in Jowhar.

The ongoing parliamentary elections in regional states and particularly in Jowhar, Adado, Baidoa were marred by corruption, malpractices and vote rigging due to continuous influence to elect candidates who are close allies to the caretaker President Hasan Shaikh Mahmoud.

Earlier, international community has called Somali leaders to support electoral implementation teams to enforce rules of electoral process and nullify results of manipulated process but reluctance from the Somali leaders to push SIEITs to comply with these rules undermine the credibility of the Somali election.


Related Articles

Somalia: Attorney General summons Finance Minister over fraud

A letter emanating from the office of the Attorney General summons the minister before the financial, economic, and cybercrimes unit.

  • Somalia


  • 12:01PM

Hamza Abdi Barre endorsed by parliament as new PM of Somalia

During Saturday's session, Hamze was approved by 220 MPs, who confirmed him as the 21st Prime Minister of the federal government of Somalia.

  • Somalia


  • 02:37PM