Coronavirus live updates: What you need to know

View More

Somalia’s international partners hail deal to fix Galmudug election crisis

By Staff reporter , Garowe Online

MOGADISHU, Somalia - Galmudug is heading to a long-awaited third election before the end of this year with a new agreement seeking to resolve deepened political crisis and dispute over the power-sharing model, Garowe Online reports.

Last Thursday, on 12 December, the Ministry of Interior for the Federal Government of Somalia has announced the deal with Ahlu Sunna, a powerful Sufi group controlling large parts of the regional state.

Somalia’s international partners released a joint statement on Friday to welcome the agreement as an important step towards establishing a unified and stable administration in Galmudug state.

“We appreciate the tireless efforts made by Somali Government, ASWJ leadership and other concerned stakeholders to resolve points of difference through dialogue and compromise,” read the statement in part.

Under the new accord, ASWJ will have 20 seats in the upcoming 89-member Galmudug state parliament, ending the long-running intense competition for power, influence, and control of the region.

The partners say they believe the move will be essential in order to advance Somalia’s national priorities for 2020 as the country is hoping first “one person, one vote election” in 50 years.

The sides have been encouraged to continue efforts for an inclusive process that reflects the aspirations of all Galmudug communities, and that results in a fair, credible and transparent outcome that is acceptable to the people.

Some of Somalia’s Federal member states and leading opposition leaders have strongly accused the Federal Government of meddling in the Galmudug elections process in support of a favorite candidate vying for president.

The showdown has paralysed Galmudug and further adding confusion to the status of the fragile administration.

The statement was issued by:

* African Union Mission in Somalia (AMISOM), Canada, Denmark, European Union, Ethiopia, Finland, Germany, Italy, Intergovernmental Authority on Development (IGAD), Kenya, Netherlands, Norway, Sweden, Turkey, Uganda, United Kingdom, United Nations, and the United States.


Latest headlines