Coronavirus live updates: What you need to know

View More

​Somalia's PM names his new cabinet, reinstates former ministers


MOGADISHU, Somalia- Somalia’s Prime Minister Hassan Ali Kheyre has nominated on Tuesday his new cabinet that saw reinstating certain ministers from his predecessor’s cabinet, Garowe Online reports.

At a news conference at the presidential palace “Villa Somalia” today, Kheyre has picked a 27-member cabinet, including former BBC Somali Service head and current Somali Envoy to UN Yususf Garad Omar and Somali Ambassador to Kenya, Jamal Hasan.

The cabinet included more than 15 Federal MPs who were nominated as ministers, deputy ministers and state ministers. Women got 6 ministerial posts, an increase in women quota in the executive branch, compared to the previous administrations.

However, the nominated cabinet is subject to approval from Somalia’s Federal Parliament before assuming executive mandate.

The new cabinet ministers of Somali Federal government

Mahdi Ahmed Guled (Khadari), Deputy Prime Minister                                                     

Iimaan Abdullahi Ali, Ministry of Religious Affairs

Abdi Farah Saiid, Ministry of Interior, Federal Affairs and reconciliation

Dr Abdirahman Dualle Beyleh, Ministry of Finance

Abdirashid Abdullahi Mohamed, Ministry of Defense

Yusuf Garad Omar, Ministry of Foreign Affairs and International cooperation

Abdirahman Dahir Osman, Ministry of Education

Abdirahman Hoosh Jibril, Ministry of Constitutional affairs

Jamal Mohamed Hassan, Ministry of Planning, investment and economic promotion

Matyan Aweys, Ministry of ports and marine transport

Guled Hussein Qassim, Ministry of Information

Mohamed Abdullahi Salad, Ministery of Transport and Civil Aviation

Abdi Anshur Hassan, Ministry of Post, Telecommunications and Technology

Sheikh Nur Mohamed Hassan, Ministry of Livestock

Khadra Ahmed Dualle, Ministry of Commerce and Industry

Abbas Abdullahi Sheikh Siraji, Ministry of Public Works and Reconstruction

Deeqa Yasin Hajji Yusuf, Ministry of Women and human rights

Mohamed Abukar Islow Dualle, Ministry of Internal Security

Sa'iid Hussein Iid, Ministry of agriculture

Fowsiya Abiikar Nur, Ministry of Health and social care

Abdirahman Mohamed Abdi Hashi, Ministry of Fisheries and Marine Resources

Khadija Mohamed Diriye, Ministry of Youth and Sports

Eng. Abdirahman Omar Osman, Ministry of Information

Hassan Hussein Hajji, Ministry of Justice

Salah Ahmed Jama, Ministry of Works and Labor

Salim Aliyow Ibrow, Minister of Power and Water

Maryam Qasim Ahmed, Ministry of Humanitarian and Disaster Management


Related articles

MOGADISHU, Somalia- The Federal Parliament of Somalia has endorsed the new cabinet appointed by the Prime Minister Hassan Ali Khayre last week after days of  gridlock, Garowe Online reports.

Wednesday's Parliament approval set a new beginning for the new PM ...

Latest headlines